Mets Walk-up Music

Walk-up music is always an interesting look into the music preferences of ballplayers, and taking a look at Mets’ preferences is no exception.

Starting Lineup

Curtis Granderson: Whoomp! (There It Is) – Tag Team

Curtis let Mets fans vote on what his walk-up music should be. Given the other options, this was not a terrible outcome.

David Wright: Jungle – X Ambassadors

I saw X Ambassadors open for Muse earlier this year, and they were…okay. I found myself wishing they would speed up everything they performed by about 15 beats per minute.

Michael Conforto: The Hills – Weeknd

The Weeknd is a pretty talented vocalist. This is not my favorite entry from The Weeknd songs that have gotten radio play, but I certainly won’t fault the choice, generally speaking.

Yoenis Cespedes: Hasta Que Se Seque El Malecon – Jacob Forever

Certainly a toe tapper. A fun, upbeat party song. Every Yo at-bat feels like a party right now, so that works.

Lucas Duda: All Along The Watchtower – Jimi Hendrix Experience

Say what you will about Lucas Duda, but he has been the model of consistency on his walk-up music. He’s been rolling with Watchtower for as long as I can recall. As a fellow aficianado of classic rock, I approve. Get well soon, Lucas.

Neil Walker: Sabotage – Beastie Boys

I’ll argue that Sabotage is one of the best music videos of the 90’s. Fight me if you must. It’s a fun song with an impressively catchy DJ-synth hook.

Asdrubel Cabrera: El Mario De Tu Mujer – Sensato

I mean…it’s not my favorite, but to each their own.

Kevin Plawecki: Know Yourself – Drake

The fact that the official version of this song evidently does not exist on Youtube only further fuels my somewhat irrational anger at Drake. He just seems like kind of a blowhard every time I see him in the front row of a Raptors game. What do I know.

Rotation

Noah Syndergaard – Game of Thrones Theme

My main issue with this is that I know this is one of the walk-up songs for Jason Werth. I very much dislike Jason Werth. That is all.

Matt Harvey: Heart Of The Bloody City – Jay-Z and U2

Oh, you mean Sunday Bloody Sunday? Whatever, I’m an old fogey. I’ll take U2 and drop Jay-Z.

Steven Matz: Lift Your Head Weary Sinner – Crowder

I can’t say I share Matz’s enthusiasm for Christian rock. That being said, the first 13 seconds are catchy, so I can live with that.

Jacob deGrom: Simple Man – Lynyrd Skynyrd

A classic. It wouldn’t be my choice to get pumped up for an at bat, but I certainly won’t fault the choice based on quality.

Bartolo Colon: Conteo – Don Omar

I feel like I enjoyed Fast And The Furious: Tokyo Drift more than most people did. The lead wasn’t riveting by any means, but what were audiences expecting? It delivered pretty much the same as what the rest of them have delivered in my opinion. Anyway, this song certainly feels like a good hype-up song for that type of movie. Or at bat.

Bench

Eric Campbell: Can’t You Hear Me Knocking – Rolling Stones

Wilmer Flores: Me Voy Enamorando – Chino y Nacho

Alejandro De Aza: Yo Llegare – Secreto

Juan Lagares: Creere – Tercer Cielo

Rene Rivera: Zion y Lennox – La Botella (as of 2014 at least)

Travis d’Arnaud (Injured): Dirt Off Your Shoulder – Jay-Z

Bullpen

Jeurys Familia: Somos Familia – Zacarias Ferreira

Addison Reed: Inteporal – Crown Tempo

Hansel Robles: Nota De Pasion – Don Miguelo

Antonio Bastardo: DJ Duro Show Mix Latino – DJ Duro Show

Jim Henderson: Watch Out (Freestyle) – Young Reckless

Jerry Blevins: Sympathy For The Devil – Rolling Stones

Logan Verrett: UNKNOWN. Someone feel free to enlighten me.

Music is all well and good, but music with beer is that much better. Dogfish Head recently debuted a new beer just for a situation like this.

Dogfish Head Brewing – Beer To Drink Music To

Billed as a Belgian Tripel, BTDMT has a unique blend of additions: orange peel, green cardamom, peppercorns and vanilla. I can’t imagine it was the intent, but the nose and the taste lead me straight to Christmas Winter Warmer flavors. The orange peel and vanilla are staples of the style; that’s no big surprise. There’s some sweet toffee hanging around, and the peppercorns do dry out the finish. But the combination of cardamom, peppercorns, and the usual clove flavor of Belgian yeast provides a Winter mulling spices effect that I just can’t shake.

This is not to say that the beer is failure by any means. It’s well balanced, and the flavors all combine for a generally pleasurable drinking experience. At 9%, BTDMT is a slow sipper that doesn’t bog itself down with any one overbearing characteristic. The slow Belgian yeast bitterness finish on the back of the tongue plays well. Dogfish Head rarely produces a beer that isn’t eminently drinkable. I just can’t imagine they were hoping I’d be stuck thinking of Christmas while consuming it.btdmt.jpg

Scouting Report (20-80 scale)

See: 55

Smell: 55

Taste: 55

Feel: 60

Overall: 55

Comp: Solidly above average Met and 2004 Mets Holiday Party Santa, Mike Cameron.

Leave a Reply

