B&O Giveaway!

Brew and Orange is nothing if not generous. In honor of the great Mike Piazza finally getting his due in the Hall of Fame, we present an opportunity to win some sweet Mets and beer related swag.

mpHow Do I Win?

Pretty simple. In the comment section of this post, tell us you best personal story about Mike Piazza. Whether it be funny, heartfelt, or truly bizarre, we want to hear about it. Your story doesn’t have to also involve beer, but it certainly wouldn’t hurt your chances if it did.

Submit your comment by 11:59 PM, Friday, January 29th 2016 to be eligible for consideration.

If you have more than one story you’d like to share, please do – the main goal is to celebrate the best home run hitting catcher of all time. But if you do, kindly indicate which story you would like to count as your official submission.

Winners will be chosen by the Brew and Orange writing staff, and will be announced on Wednesday, February 3rd, 2016.

What Do I Win?

First Place – A vintage 1950’s Rheingold Extra Dry Lager Beer Tap Handle

giveaway2

Second Place – 4 (unused) vintage 1960’s Mets Rheingold Beer coasters

giveaway1

Third Place – An official Mets 2015 World Series beer koozie

giveaway3

Thanks for participating and good luck!

8 thoughts on “B&O Giveaway!

  1. When I was in college to gain favor from my Economics teacher, I forged Mike Piazza’s signature on a baseball and gave it to him. He was so excited when I presented it to him, he couldn’t believe it. I always felt a little guilty over not having the opportunity to come clean, however I did pass the class.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That’s an awesome way to learn about supply & demand. You supplied him with a fake autograph and demanded a passing grade; Sounds like you were able to put your education to work!

      Like

  2. Two summers ago I was on vacation with my family in Ocean City, NJ. One of the evenings, we decided to hit the boardwalk. My 5 year old niece wanted to go to the play-land so we proceeded there for some fun rides and entertainment. Once inside the play-land, my niece wanted to go on those flying swing chairs and I told her I would go with her. Buckled up, I sat back in my chair and awaited an exciting experience. About half-way into the ride, I noticed a familiar face on the ground. Everytime we circled, I kept looking at this one individual, swearing to myself, I think that’s Mike Piazza! Turn after turn, I kept looking, staring, praying this stupid ride would get over with! Once the ride was over, I helped my niece unbuckle her chair, and proceeded to “Quickly Walk” in the direction of the unidentified individual. A long-time friend of mine was awaiting with the rest of my family and noticed me following someone. I kept saying, I think that is Mike Piazza! I tapped him on the shoulder, he didn’t budge. I then proceeded to grab his arm and said, Excuse Me Mr. Piazza? He turned and looked at me. OMG, one of my favorite Mets of all time is staring at me… well, in not the greatest mood. I asked him if I could have a picture, he said, Sure, Where is the camera? I struggled getting my phone out, as I’m sure most fans would. Luckily, my buddy had his camera out, laughing at me as I “hunted down” one of my favorite players. I got the picture, shook his hand, apologized for taking him away from his family, and proceeded to sit on a bench for the next few minutes trying to figure out what just happened!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I guess there are really three Piazza moments that really stick in my mind.

    The first is one that has a special place in the hearts of all Mets fans, which is the post-9/11 home run. I was in 5th grade on 9/11. We weren’t allowed to play outside for recess that day. They told us it was because there were too many bees. It was really because you could see the smoke emanating from the Towers some 30 miles away from the roof of my school and from the high points on the playground. For those of us who were children that were old enough to understand what was going on, but young enough to not quite fathom the scope of the thing, it is a perspective altering event – something that shakes your very world view as a child that people are fundamentally good. It was the day that I learned what “terrorism” meant. It was the first time I saw the grief counselor at my school come into the classroom (I didn’t even know we had a grief counselor) and shuttle away my classmates who were screaming for their parents – many first responders among them. It was the first time I had ever seen the adults in my life show unrestrained fear.

    I didn’t cry when I found out about the Towers. I didn’t cry when I found out my uncle missed his train and he would have died if he didn’t. I didn’t cry when I watched the video footage on the news over and over again. But, I did cry when Mike Piazza hit a home run on September 21st against the Braves. And I still cry when I watch it. Because I remember what little 11 year old me felt at that time: catharsis. Baseball was still there for me. Baseball would always be there for me. No matter how the world would change or what bad things would happen, baseball would always make me happy. Life would go on as it always does. It’s still the most important lesson baseball has ever taught me and I have Mike to thank for that. He’s a huge reason why I’m such a big Mets fan.

    I was lucky enough to be at Piazza’s return to Shea. That will also always be a special memory for me. I’m smiling to myself just thinking about how I simply laughed when he hit his second home run.

    The final really poignant Piazza moment for me was the last day at Shea in 2008. I was there with my dad, who is singlehandedly the most important person in my life, mostly because of the bond we share over baseball. Despite the bittersweet way that game ended, the image of Tom Seaver (my dad’s childhood hero) and Mike Piazza (my childhood hero) standing there hand in hand paying homage to the place they called home will always stick with me. It felt like a sort of changing of the guard – ushering in a new era of Mets baseball that belonged to my generation of fans.

    I really hope I can go to Citi when they retire his number so I can have one more memory of my favorite baseball player.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. My Piazza memory also includes another legendary Met, though one who never wore a uniform. It was late in the season in the early 2000’s when the Mets held Bob Murphy night at Shea Stadium. While it was poignant to be there for a farewell to a broadcasting legend, the bonus came near the end of the game when Mike Piazza got to play his first game at first base. The crowd was stunned to see the eventual hall of fame catcher now playing at first. So the night began with a send off to one beloved Met and ended with a surprise position change from another.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. After the last game at Shea in 2004, I was walking to the parking lot across Roosevelt Ave from the stadium, carrying my daughter in my arms. I was crossing the inner road when a Mercedes came charging up the road and slammed on its brakes, nearly hitting me. Guess who was driving? Mike Piazza! I thought his eyes were going to pop out of his head. He apologized profusely. I said that’s okay. Have a good off season and I’ll see you in the spring. He waved and pulled away.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: An interview with Chris Ray: former MLB player, current Brewery owner | Brew and Orange

Leave a Reply

